JSC lines up 12 candidates for Constitutional Court interviews


Harare (New Ziana) – The Judicial Services Commission (JSC) said on Friday it has shortlisted 12 individuals for public interviews from whom it will choose 5 to sit on the Constitutional Court bench.

The Constitutional Court, which is made up of seven judges, is the highest court in the land and is headed by Chief Justice, Luke Malaba
with the Deputy Chief Justice being the second in command.

The search for the five judges began with a month long nomination period which allowed the public to select individuals with capabilities to sit on the bench.

Constitutional Court cases were previously presided over by Supreme Court judges who doubled up for both courts.

But the two courts were effectively separated mid-this year in line with constitutional requirements, necessitating the need for appointment of full time judges for the Constitutional Court.

The JSC said it had received 12 valid nominations for proposed candidates to sit on the bench who will be interviewed from 7 to 9 September.

“Following the invitation to members of the public and to His Excellency, the President, to nominate suitably qualified persons for appointment to five positions of Judge of the Constitutional Court, in terms of Section 180 (4)(b) of the Constitution, the Judicial Service Commission received 12 valid nominations,” said JSC spokesperson Rumbidzai Takawira.

The JSC is a constitutional body whose mandate is to advise the government on matters relating to the judiciary, efficient and transparent administration of justice as well as to promote the independence and accountability of the judiciary.

At least 8 of the 12 candidates are already judges sitting on either the High Court or Supreme Court benches while 3 are lawyers and one is a retired judge.

Those already serving are Justices Energy Chinembiri Bhunu, Paddington Shadreck Garwe, Anne Mary Gowora, Ben Hlatshwayo, Charles Hungwe, Rita
Tambudzai Makarau, Bharat Patel and Justice Happias Zhou.

Other candidates include Smart Mirirai, Arnold Tsunga, Donald Stevenson Corke and retired Justice David George Bartlett.

Requirements for nominations included a minimum of 40 years of age and 12 years legal experience in Zimbabwe or any country using the Roman-Dutch law.

Nominations closed on June 30.

New Ziana

Comments are closed.