Zanu PF takes back Epworth

Zanu PF takes back Epworth


Harare (New Ziana) –Agresssive campaigns and implementation of people centered policies carried the day for the ruling Zanu PF party party in the weekend by elections after it secured two new Parliamentary seats and several local authority wards previously held by the opposition while retaining the seats it held previously.

According to official results from the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission, Zanu PF’s Zalerah Makari bagged the Epworth seat, after securing 10 248 votes.

It was in Epworth that President Emmerson Mnangagwa launched Zanu PF’s by- election campaign.

Earlier, the party won back the Mutasa South constituency after its candidate Misheck Mugadza polled 5818 to beat the former incumbent Regai Tsunga who received 5296 votes.

In areas that Zanu PF lost, including in Binga North, the ruling party managed to narrow the losing margin compared to the 2018 elections.

In Binga North, the Citizens Coalition for Change candidate, polled 10160 votes down from 18 428 he garnered in 2018, while Zanu PF’s candidate polled 7 812 votes up from 7 751 in 2018.

Indications are that the ruling party has made strong inroads in some opposition strongholds.

This is a huge statement of intent ahead of the 2023 general elections.

At ward level, Zanu PF took back Zengeza ward 10 through Leah Chidamba while Scott Sakupwanya took the Mabvuku Tafara ward 21 seat.

Kwekwe City Council ward 8, previously held by the opposition, was also won back by Zanu PF.

In Victoria Falls, Zanu PF also took two wards that were in the opposition hands.

Seats that went back to the opposition include Highfield East Constituecy where CCC’s Erick Murai polled 5 610 votes to retain the seat he had won in 2018.

In Glen View North Constituency results showed that, CCC’s Fani Munengami with 4 053 votes, beat other contenders including Zanu PF’s Martin Mambo who had 1 578 votes and MDC Alliance’s Rhino Mashaya who got 112 votes.

The CCC also retained its Kuwadzana East constituency through Charlton Hwende who polled 5 238 votes while his nearest rival from Zanu PF polled 1 311 votes.

In Pumula, Bulawayo Sichelesile Mahlangu regained the seat she won in 2018.

In the previous election, she beat the ZanuPF candidate 9 241 to 4 650, but this time she won 3 092 to ZanuPF’s 1 212.

In Mufakose Constituency CCC’s Susan Matsunga polled 4039 votes to win the seat.

Zanu Pfs Taurai Marlvin Marembo got 1128 votes while MDC Alliance’s Rodwell Shambamuto polled 218.

In Kambuzuma Constituency CCC’s Willias Madzimure garnered 4 457 votes to retain the seat he won in 2018.

Zanu PF candidate Oscar Nyamunokora got 1 800 votes, while MDC Alliance’s Fungai Chiposi polled 154.

There were 79 spoilt ballot papers.
New Ziana

Comments are closed.