Province maintains 23 constituencies after delimitation

By Archford Chirimudombo

MARONDERA- As was the case in the past two previous harmonised elections, Mashonaland East will
still have 23 constituencies that will be contested for in next year’s plebiscite.
Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) provincial elections officer Collins Munetsi revealed this when
he updated stakeholders on the outcome of the delimitation exercise that was carried out in the
Chikomba and Hwedza districts lost a constituency each while Seke had one added. Another
constituency, Ruwa, was also added to the province.
“After the delimitation exercise, we managed to maintain 23 constituencies for Mashonaland East.
We managed to align constituency boundaries internally to acquire the required voter population
for each ward in every constituency,” Munetsi said.
The total voter population for the province stands at 641 660, with an average voter population of
27 898.
Meanwhile, a similar report back meeting was also held in Marondera where the district elections
officer Machona explained the exercise, stating that Marondera Central, East and West
constituencies will have 12, 11 and 12 wards in that order.
He said: “We joined some electoral boundaries as ZEC while the Ministry of Local Government and
Public Works worked on the administrative boundaries. This exercise is done after every ten years
and we worked closely as a district committee that included the Municiplality, the rural district
council, the Ministry of Lands, the Zimbabwe Republic Police (ZRP) and the Zimbabwe Statistics
Agency (Zimstat.”
Zanu PF Marondera District Coordinating Committee (DCC) chairman Shepherd Kaserera said they
will approach the District Development Coordinator’s office to have the issue of Artherstone, Rusike
and Garikai residential areas that get their services from the Municipality, but are in the rural
boundaries, resolved.

Comments are closed.