Gems urged to start preps for 2023 Netball World Cup


GWERU – Zimbabwe national netball team, The Gems who took part in the recently ended SPAR
Diamond Challenge in South Africa, should now make thorough preparations for the 2023 Netball
World Cup to be hosted by South Africa.
The 2023 Netball World Cup will take place in Cape Town from July 28 – August 6 and all 60 matches
will be broadcast by both SuperSport and SABC.
Zimbabwe was drawn in Group A together with 11-time world champions Australia, Tonga, and Fiji.
The four countries carrying the hopes of Africa in next year’s global showpiece are South Africa,
Malawi, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Hosts South Africa find themselves in Group C paired alongside
Jamaica, Wales, and Sri Lanka.
Commenting after the East London ICC draw recently, Zimbabwe netball fans called upon authorities
to intensify preparations if the Gems entertain any hopes of making it to the second of the World
“The Gems will progress to the next round,” declared Tawah Munthali.
“The group is doable for me and we stand a chance of finishing in top two,” said Melisa Banda.
Another fan Jonathan Munzvenga said despite good preparations, the government and the
corporate world need to pool their resources and support the girl child, if the country is to post good
results in their group with highly ranked teams.
“Remember, Australia ranked number one, Tonga is ranked 8th, Zimbabwe 13th and Fiji 14th. These
are tough opponents and the players need to be given good incentives if you want them to win at
the World Cup,” he said.
Paul Dube had this to say: “Continue preparing well. We have a chance. We need to work hard in our
The Gems last competitive competition was the Spar Diamond Challenge which was staged in
Pretoria, South Africa from November 22-26.
The Gems lost their opening match 50-55 to South Africa President's XII, 72-37 to SPAR Proteas,
drew 41-41 with the Scottish Thistles. Then they played the Bronze medal match against President’s
Netball World Cup 2023
Group A: Australia, Tonga, Zimbabwe, Fiji
Group B: England, Malawi, Scotland, Barbados
Group C: South Africa, Jamaica, Wales, Sri Lanka
Group D: New Zealand, Uganda, Trinidad and Tobago, Singapore

Comments are closed.