Division 2 league kicks off

By Archford Chirimudombo

MARONDERA- Action in the ZIFA Mashonaland East Division 2 league is pencilled to
start on the weekend of 29/30 March with a total of 14 teams having confirmed their
Confirming the scheduled date for the commencement of the league, ZIFA Mashonaland East
chairman Oscar Tsvuura said an induction workshop for new clubs has already been done.
“We are looking forward to start playing our games next weekend and new teams that
declared their interest to be part of the Division 2 bandwagon were inducted. There were
made to be aware of what is expected from them in terms of administration and discipline.
“It is our hope that they will be in a position to implement the expectations so that that our
fixtures flow smoothly. Indiscipline will not be tolerated and we will do our best to instil a
sense of professionalism amongst the clubs,” Tsvuura said.
For last season, the affiliation fees was US$650 for clubs that had already been in the system
while new teams were expected to fork out US$750. The league resolved to maintain the
same affiliation fees structure for this season.
Champions FC Hunters, Chivhu, Kotwa United, Rusununguko, Hukuru, Ben Academy,
Naireshanzi, Sambok, Juru Students, Kanyongo, Ruwa Sports, Auto Beatrice and All Stars
are clubs that made up the league last season.
It has since emerged that most of those clubs only paid part of their affiliation and were
allowed to play having made payment plans which they failed to fulfill.
Only Hukuru FC and Chivhu Stars have paid up their affiliation fees for this season but the
rest of the teams will be allowed to play even though they only paid deposits.
Tsvuura said: “Several new teams only paid deposits but we expect them to fully pay up their
affiliation fees before we break for mid-season. That will help us to effectively run the
administration side of the league.”
Last season, FC Hunters won the division’s championship and were promoted to the more
competitive Eastern Region Soccer League which is made up teams from Mashonaland East,
Masvingo and Manicaland provinces.

Comments are closed.