Invimbi Traditional Dance Group win the Matebeleland North Chibuku Neshamwari competition.

Rutendo Mapfumo


The Victoria falls based Invimbi Traditional Dance Group will represent Matebeleland North Province in the national Chibuku Neshamwari to be held in due course.
The competitions which were held at Jabulani beer garden in Hwange attracted many fans and nine traditional groups from Matabeleland North who were battling for the provincial title.
The groups performed various traditional dances which resembles the African culture.
In an interview, Kennedy Kachuruka the President Zimbabwe National Traditional Dancers Association (ZNTDA) said the groups showcased their best traditional performances.
“Ten groups are supposed to perform annually for the province, and we had a full complement although one group failed to perform because they did not have the required numbers of members to constitute the participating group,” said Kachuruka.
Invimbi Traditional Dance group won the first prize and Amakhosikasi with its Isitshikitsha dance again from Victoria Falls coming second. Pezhuba Pachena from Hwange Nsumbule dance of the Nambya culture scooped third prize.
Invimbi traditional dance performed Zulu umtshongoyo dance, which has its origins in KwaZulu in South Africa.
Kachuruka praised the community for supporting traditional dances.
“Indeed, we have a cultural melting pot, the turn-up was excellent. The Hwange community supports cultural heritage a lot. This goes for the whole of Matebeleland North which is a proud cultural community,” he said
The provincial winners will compete at the national competition where they will battle winners from other provinces.
Winning the provincial competition is not new to Invimbi, but the excitement of representing Matabeleland North at the national finals was written all over the group members’ faces.
Invimbi is one of the top traditional dance groups in Victoria Falls. It dominated Ingwebu traditional dance competitions between 2004 and 2007 when it was still based in Bulawayo and had become annual champions.

Comments are closed.