Midlands political bigwigs enter race

Staff Reporter


GWERU – A number of bigwigs successfully filed their nominations papers to contest in the August
23 general elections.
Zimbabwe Electoral Commission Midlands Provincial Elections Officer, Dorcas Mpofu said seven
parties would be contesting in the Midlands province and urged them to shun violence and conduct
their campaigns peacefully.
The ruling Zanu PF and the main opposition CCC managed to field candidates in all 28 constituencies
of the province setting the stage for an explosive election season.
The Douglas Mwonzora led MDC-T managed to field five parliamentary candidates, while Freezim
Congress, ZAPU, UZA and five independent candidates linked to ex-minister Saviour Kasukuwere
who is running as a presidential candidate are also in the race.
Government ministers Fredrick Shava, Paul Mavhima and July Moyo all go into the ring as will former
ministers Flora Buka, Francis Nhema and Freddy Moyo.
Shava and Nhema are in Zanu PF’s list for senatorial positions, while Mavhima, Freddy Moyo and July
Moyo are contesting in Gokwe Sengwa, Zvishavane-Runde and Redcliff Constituencies for house of
assembly positions. Buka is contesting in Gokwe Nembudziya.
Another former minister in the inclusive government Sesil Zvidzai is on the CCC list for senatorial
Amos Chibaya will once again represent CCC in Mkoba North where he will battle it out with Zanu
PF’s William Gondo. Another CCC candidate is former Health Minister Dr. Henry Madzorera who will
square off with prominent Kwekwe businessman Dr. Solomon Matsa for Kwekwe’s Ward 10 council
There is no place this time in Mbizo for Settlement Chikwinya, who has been replaced for the CCC
ticket by Coban Madzivanzira. Madzivanzira successfully filed with Zanu PF’s Vongaiishe Mupereri
and Terrence Mambende of the MDC-T.
There will be a battle of wits in Gweru Urban where incumbent Brian Dube of the MDC-T faces Zanu
PF academic Alex Mukwembi and former Gweru mayor Josiah Makombe of CCC.
Former minister, Owen “Mudha” Ncube represents Zanu PF in Gokwe Kana, where he faces Onias
Hwata of CCC.
In local government elections, Gweru mayor Hamutendi Kombayi represents MDC-T in Gweru Urban
Ward 1, where he faces Zanu PF’s Anashe Maclean and CCC’s Mercy Magwanya.
Tawanda Magidi, Farai Muza, Edson Kurebwaseka and Notai Dzika all seek re-election in their wards
under the MDC-T.
Another former Gweru mayor Tedious Chimombe, who was last in council chambers in 2013 comes
back in Ward 12 under CCC.

Zimbabweans go to the polls to choose presidential, parliamentary and local government candidates
in this year’s poll.

Comments are closed.