16 Mayors witness Beitbridge Marathon

Staff Reporter


SIXTEEN mayors from Zimbabwes total of 34 this year witnessed the eighth edition
of the Beitbridge Mayors Half Marathon, won by the Zimbabwe Republic Police
Athletics Club runner, Isaac Mpofu.
Touching the finishing line after an hour and two minutes 30 seconds, Mpofu was
followed by Wayne Kabondo, whose time was one hour and four minutes and 33
Lord Mathe of the Great Dyke Athletics Club was third, clocking an hour and five
minutes 28 seconds.
The Beitbridge Mayors Half Marathon is an annual event created by Town Clerk,
Loud Ramagkapola, eight years ago to encourage cleanliness in the border town.
In an interview Harare Mayor, Jacob Mafume, who was among the 16 Mayors who
supported the event, encouraged other towns to have similar events that have the
potential for encourage domestic tourism.
Among the 16 mayors were Tendai Kokera of Kadoma and Future Titora of Kwekwe,
who are the only two female Mayors in Zimbabwe.
Below is the full list of winners and their categories.

Comments are closed.