Zanu-PF wins three more parliamentary seats


Harare (New Ziana) – The ruling Zanu PF party was on Friday declared winner of three more parliamentary seats in Uzumba, Maramba Pfungwa and Muzarabani constituencies in the country’s mid-week general election, bringing its confirmed tally to 20.

Zimbabweans voted for a new president, and parliamentary and local government representatives on Wednesday to run state affairs for the next five years.

The Zimbabwe Electoral Commission, in its latest announcement of partial results, declared Wiriranai Muchemwa of Zanu-PF winner of Uzumba constituency with 24 588 votes, beating nearest rival Cosmas Konono of Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) who obtained a paltry 1977 votes.

In Maramba Pfungwe constituency, Tichaona Karumazondo of Zanu PF was also declared winner with 25 757 votes, versus Chimunhu Chiratidzo of CCC with 1 448.

Soda Zhemu of Zanu PF won 21 514 votes in Muzarabani North constituency to lift the parliamentary seat, beating CCC’s Agreement Takawira Kugura who got 1 423 votes.

But the CCC snatched Glen Norah constituency in Harare, with its candidate Chikombo Wellington getting 17 009 votes, against 4 261 obtained by Muchineripi Mapindu of Zanu-PF.

The victory brings the CCC’s tally to 12 seats.

The election results are being announced in batches as, and where, counting and collation is completed.

New Ziana

Comments are closed.