Bulawayo Councillors sworn in


Bulawayo (New Ziana) – Bulawayo councillors who were elected in last month`s harmonised elections were sworn in on Wednesday at City Hall.

The councillors took their oaths of office before City Town Clerk Christopher Dube, who presided over the proceedings.

Bulawayo Metropolitan province has 29 council wards, which were all won by the opposition Citizens For Coalition Change (CCC) party led by Nelson Chamisa.

Nine female councillors were also sworn in under Proportional Representation (PR).

After taking the oaths, the councillors went into an induction session, while the date to choose the mayor and his deputy was set for September 11 at the same venue.

In an interview with New Ziana after the swearing in ceremony, Town clerk Dube said the event is provided for in section 47(2) of Urban Councils Act which states that councillors must be sworn in by the town clerk before they start work.

CCC caucus leader, David Coltart said the councillors were now ready to deliver to the residents and pledged to improve service delivery.

“We want to run this council efficiently for the benefit of all our citizens. We are ready to serve our residents and stakeholders,” he said.

Sarah Cronia, Melissa Mabeza and Tabetha Mhizha were some of the councillors who were sworn in under Propositional Representation.

New Ziana

Comments are closed.