Type to search

Chaminuka Provincial Newspapers

Marondera Mayor, four other councilors recalled


MARONDERA- The Mayor, Albert Nyakarombo was last week recalled from the
Municipality of Marondera by Sengezo Tshabangu who claims to be the secretary
general of the opposition Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC).

Soon after the August 23-24 harmonised elections that were resoundingly won by
President Emmerson Mnangagwa and the ruling Zanu PF party, Tshabangu has
been recalling CCC Senators, Mambers of the National House of Assembly and
councilors from various constituencies and local authorities throughout the country.

Nyakarombo (Ward 8) is now among the Mayors from various towns and cities who
have been recalled and the others include Harare’s Ian Makone, Mutare’s Sophia
Gwasira, Mashingo’s Shantel Chiwara and Epworth Local board chairperson Annah

He was recalled alongside his deputy, Bornface Tagwirei (Ward 3), Thomson
Magaluwa (Ward 10) and two proportional representation councilors – Define
Nyatondo and Sisipile Mutizwa.

A letter seen by Chaminuka News was addressed to the Town Clerk of Marondera,
Rinashe Nyamuzihwa, by the Acting Minister of Local Government and Public works
Daniel Garwe.

The letter, referenced Recall of Certain Councilors, read: “I wish to inform you that I
am in receipt of a letter from the Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) stating that the
councilors have ceased to be members of the CCC party.

“In terms of Section 278(1) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe, as read with Section
(1)(k), the above mentioned wards are now vacant. In terms of Section 121 of the
Electoral Act, please proceed to inform the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission of these

Nyakarombo confirmed that he had been informed of the recall and said he would
issue out a statement in due course.

However, he was yet to deliver the statement by the time of going to print.

Verified by MonsterInsights